New Play Commission Scheme Recipients Announced

New Play Commission Scheme Recipients Announced

Posted on August 17th, 2022

Today we are delighted to announce the recipients of the New Play Commission Scheme. The landmark scheme, created by WGGB in partnership with HighTide Theatre, UK Theatre and the Independent Theatre Council, is a response to the decline in new play commissioning following the Covid-19 pandemic

Proposals for 18 new plays have been selected for commission by a panel of leading theatre-makers, chaired by WGGB Chair Lisa Holdsworth: consisting of writers Gurpreet Kaur Bhatti, Tom Wentworth and Roy Williams, writer/director Aisha Khan, writer/actor Amelia Bullmore, producer/director James Dacre and producer Kate Pakenham

Donors to the scheme include critically acclaimed playwrights Mike Bartlett, Caryl Churchill, April De Angelis, Lee Hall, Lucy Kirkwood, Bryony Lavery, Nina Raine, Simon Stephens, Tom Stoppard, Jack Thorne and Laura Wade.

The full list of writers and producers are:

Carmen Marcus – And The Earth Opened Up Under Her (Pilot Theatre)

Tatty Hennessy – Attrition (RJG Productions Limited)

Tallulah Brown – Beldam (Theatre Royal Bury St Edmunds)

Jessica Hagan – Brenda’s Got a Baby (New Diorama, Nouveau Riche and Soho Theatre)

Kat Rose-Martin – Cheap as Chips (Leeds Playhouse)

Tyrell Williams – Escalate (Eleanor Lloyd Theatrical Productions Ltd)

Miss Philippines – Rogelio Braga (New Earth Theatre)

Shamser Sinha – Morgiana, Sinbad & the Jewel of the Lost Lagoon (The Egg Theatre, Theatre Royal Bath)

Kelly Jones – My Mother’s Funeral: The Show (Mercury Theatre)

Philip Meeks – No Dog, No Danny (The Playground Theatre)

Billie Collins – Peak Stuff (ThickSkin)

Hattie Naylor – Prinzhorn (Dash Arts)

Majid Adin & Yara Rodrigues Fowler – The Conference of The Trees (Good Chance Theatre)

Garry Lyons – The Makina Project (Sunderland Culture)

Josh Overton – This Damp Won’t Burn (Hull Truck Theatre)

Carmen Nasr – This Is Not A Pyramid Scheme (Hampstead Theatre)

Vici Wreford-Sinnott – Useless F*cker (Live Theatre)

Matt Woodhead – Woodhill (LUNG)

You can read the full press release here.